The Edward Betham C of E Primary School

Our Curriculum

The overarching aims of our curriculum rooted in our school vision.

We teach our children

  • How to learn
  • How to love learning
  • How to believe they can always improve

Faith: Our children will learn how to learn. They will have faith in their abilities, developed through our school learning system SOLO Taxonomy, from which lessons are structured and learning is assessed, and through our ambitious knowledge- and vocabulary-rich curriculum. 

Hope: Our children will learn how to love learning. They will feel hope for the future, with our social justice-themed curriculum inspiring them to become agents of change. Teachers demonstrate hope through consistently high expectations for pupils of all backgrounds and abilities.

Love: Our children will learn to believe that they can always improve. They will understand that they are loved through our curriculum, which promotes wellbeing, and enables them to recognise and develop their own unique gifts and so live happy, healthy and productive lives. Children learn that they can show God's love to others through their words and actions.

Our bespoke, topic-based curriculum reflects our local context whilst making clear links to our global community and responsibilities. Our intention is that our curriculum will extend opportunity, raise aspiration and allow children to develop communication skills, build resilience and become creative, critical thinkers.  We take a mastery approach to all our learning at Edward Betham and ensure that we provide the necessary supports and scaffolds so that pupils of all abilities can access the full curriculum at our school. We desire for every child to meet or exceed their potential.

Our curriculum maps for each year group are available here

If you would like to know more, please contact our Curriculum Lead, Mrs Marson, via the school office.